Which one do you think is the most important factor for a student to succeed at college or university?

Tutors in university.

The encouragement from family and friends.

High-quality education from high school.

Lots of students to be successful at college because it is very crucial for their future career. To some extent, their success at college reflects they may be good at some aspects so companies are more likely to hire them. As far as I am concerned, in order to succeed at university, tutors in university is more important than other two factors.

First, family and friends do not know much about college. The encouragement might be a little bit helpful when students meet some difficulties and feel sad. It just can make people feel better and comfortable. In fact, family members and friends cannot give several suggestions to help students solve the problems at all. On the contrary, professors know the colleges quite well. In this way, they can offer practical solutions for students to deal with difficulties. Thus, they are not able to make students become successful at colleges.

Second, education from high school is way different from the education from the colleges even it is high-quality. In this case, it is also helpless for some students to succeed. As we know, students have to pick their majors at college. Students may choose different majors even they both from one of the top high schools in a city. For instance, I am major in landscape architecture, I have to learn how to use computer to design and drawing. Actually, I usually meet a few problems about operating those professional software such as photoshop and sketchup. In contrast, I have learned nothing about this kind of professional knowledge in high school. If I ask my professors these questions, they are able to tell me how to solve these issues correctly. Accordingly, tutors are the most helpful people for students to get succeed.

Finally, tutors are familiar with students at universities as well. In this way, students can be provided with personal plans from their tutors to achieve success. Take me as an example, when I was a freshman, I wanted to join the student union at my university. However, I did not pass the interview, which made me so disappointed. I did not know why I was rejected. Then, I turned to my tutor for help, he told me that since I was extremely nervous at that time, I cannot express my opinions very well. He suggested me that I could try to join a speech club to make me feel more confident. To my surprise, I was so brave that I was able to speech loudly in front of plenty of people later. Therefore, professors at colleges are a better option than the others.

As the three reasons mentioned above, it is easy to draw the conclusion that professors is the most vital factor to help students reach success at colleges rather than parents, friends and high-quality education from high school.