Which one of the following do you think is the best way to get to know a city in a limited amount of time when you first visit it? 1.touring historic sites; 2. going to markets or shops; 3. eating in restaurants or spending time in cafes.

People have different goals while travelling to a city overseas. Some of them like to spend time visiting well-known sites and attractions, other prefer to investigate country's cuisine. Apparently for me, the best way to familiarize yourself with a new place is going to local markets or auntique shops. Only looking for famous places will not be enough to understand the culture of the country and the character and way of living of people, who live in the city.

First and foremost, in famous cities the great amount of money and attention have been put into historical centers. Undeniably, the outstanding architecture and colorit of old narrow streets should not be missed while visiting a new place. However, if you time is limited, the best choice is to explore the suburbs of the city. All nations are consisted of different types of people, and having an opportunity to understant other cultures and traditions by witnessing it yourself is the most fascinating part of travels for me. The one important reason for me is my concern, that people are the face of the country they are leaving in. Their chores, unique way of conducting regular things can tell a lot about country and particularly the city.

Secondly, another reason for shopping in local shops or markets - is the economical situation in the country. News channels or articles on the internet can't tell you the entire truth about the welth rate of the country. When you go to a regular convenience store, you can watch which products people buy the most; the prices, which can be compared to the salaries; the variety of market wares and other points which are able to tell a lot. I consider that the country can't be understood without paying your attention to its economy. After getting acknowledged with the situation on the market, you start to understand residents, the problems they tend to face and their way of living. Moreover, when visiting such places, you can come across unique objects, which can be collected by you, keeping the memories you obtained from your travel.

Overall, in my opinion, the best way to feel the city and to understand its residents is to stay away from the historical center. They are usually specifically made up for tourists, so you won't find out almost any information about the true life of the city.