The widespread use of the internet has given people access to information on a level never experienced before. How does this increase in the availability of information influence life in today´s world?

For over the last few years, a phenomenon has been developing around us, this is, the unstoppable growing of the availability of information through internet sources. Undoubtedly, this growing has influenced today´s life in many different ways.

The first example of this influence is how a lot of misinformation is produced in people because of the internet. To illustrate, many web-sites show false facts, which seem scandalous and attractive, in order to catch the public´s attention. As a matter of fact, these web-sites generate confusion between people who believe what is stated on them and those who confront them. Additionally, there are other sites on the internet, which seem to be faithful, but are overfilled with wrong information. For instance, many medical sites have been proved to seem trustworthy, but after being investigated were shown not to be real at all. Even though this is an usual problem in the internet, many people still follow the crowd and believe the medical or general facts they found on those sites and turn into slaves of wrong information. Moreover, in 2007 it was discovered that a quarter of the American population believed that the world end was coming in 2012 because it was announced on the internet.

On the other hand, nowadays it is still possible to find trustworthy information on the internet which can increase our knowledge. What´s more, it has been shown that there are still a lot of faithful sources on internet, such as public online libraries, which usually contain scientifically proven information or books. Furthermore, many well-recognized agencies of investigation frequently post their new researches so that people can access to them and learn new interesting facts.

In my own opinion, because of the increase in the availability of information, nowadays it is difficult to identify which of the internet sources are reliable or not. Consequently, what we are reading on the internet might or not be true. Therefore, it is necessary for us to learn to choose which is the information we believe in.