workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long

In the modern era, occupations are regarded as crucial factors contributing to the thriving of individuals and communities. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the question of how to make workers satisfied to increase a company’s productivity. Many people adhere to the view that giving the workers various tasks during the day help them not to become bored, while others believe doing the same functions increase their job gratification. I firmly believe companies should not force their workers to do assorted tasks. In what follows, I will cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that switching between different tasks has a massive overhead which would increase the number of mistakes made by individuals. People adapt what they do during a given period, so shifting to another job requires forgetting their previous adaptations to work on something new. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About two years ago, I worked in a company as a programmer in the technical division. Because the staff count was not adequate, we had to perform various tasks during the day using different scripting languages. As a result, most of the time, we mixed things up, and produced a lot of bugs and in our codes. Thus, our company decided to hire new staff and give them specific duties about a particular topic to reduce these blunders.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that giving unique tasks to group members increases their speed and quality over time. The more time people spend on performing an activity, the faster they get in executing that. In the beginning, our brain or arm muscles are not used to do new assignments, but little by little, they become stronger to perform given tasks. As a result, our performance will be faster and more reliable. For instance, during my internship project, I had to learn a new programming language. Not knowing much about its syntax, I had to search the web for solutions all the time, which was a cumbersome and time-consuming job to do. After a while, I became acquainted and fluent in that language so that I could satisfy my ubiquitous needs. Consequently, I wrote my codes rapidly without any errors.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that giving workers unique tasks is much beneficial rather than overwhelm them with numerous duties. Because their error rate will be decreased, plus they will become more familiar with the job over time, thus they will do it quicker.