workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long

Currently, society has witnessed unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, thus city dwellers are attaching more importance to challenges existing in their jobs, instead of their salaries or other working conditions. A myriad of individuals contend that they have the preference for doing similiar tasks all day long since it does not make them to suffer from pressure generated from excessive workload, while others harbor the idea that multiple types of tasks to do during workday make them feel more satisfied with their jobs. Personally speaking, I concur with the latter opinion and my view can be subtantiated as follows.

To start with, tackling with different tasks is conducive to our job promotion and achievement. When we enter the employment market, what we possess is merely the theoretical knowledge imparted from professors, however this kind of knowledge can not be applied to deal with real problems directly since real problems are always inextricably intertwined with diversified emergence or other factors. Therefore, the mere approach to improve our aptitude of handling different situation is accumulating pragmatic experience from handling different types of tasks, which constitutes a stepping stone in our job promotion and achievemnts. The more kinds of tasks we handle, the more experience we amass. Gradually, we are entitled to address varieties of challenges confronted with us based on the gradually enhanced experience. Hence, not only the leaders are inclined to render us with opportunities of job promotion, but also we are afforded with more chances to experience other decent and well-paid job positions. For instance, two of my colleagues, Rebecca and Susan, entered our company in the same time. After they were employed by our company, Rebecca has spared no effort to seize each working opportunities without any hesitation, including the affairs related with diversified domains, like marketing, advertisements and so on, which contributes to the improvement of her personal ability. In contrast, Susan has been dealing with same affairs, like making preparation for coming meetings. After two years, both of them were evaluated by the leaders in their department. Eventually, Rebecca got promoted, while Susan, without any eminent ability or contribution the development of the company, is fired due to her poor performance during evaluation. This example illuminates that the challenges emerging in our jobs, for the sake of honing our pragmatic skills, make us more pleased with us.

What's more, dealing with different types of tasks also affords us with the sense of achievement. Every time we handle the problems successfully, we are proud of the achievement we attain and feel more pleased with our own capability. The research conducted to evaluate individuals willingness demonstrates that 78% individuals reckon that although it is back-breaking to handle varities of tasks in different domains, they do obtain numerous rewards from the process, not only the material awards rendered by companies, but also the spiritual reward. Most of them feel satisfied with their jobs due to the sense of achievement and they regard this spiritual award as the dominant factor they continue to work hard to make contribution to their companies.

Admittedly, doing synonymous tasks all day long takes less time and energy, however it is tedious for individuals to deal with same affairs without any hope. Meanwhile, what they can attain from jobs is really limited.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, workers are more satisfies with jobs full of disserent types of tasks. For one thing, it enables them to sharpen their pragmatic skills. For another, it renders them with the sense of achievement which nurtures their tenacity to keep working.