Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Nowadays modern companies try to increase job satisfaction between their employees and therefore reduce the risk of costly resource rotations as much as possible. One of the parameters that human resource experts has mentioned effective in riasing job satisfaction is variety in worker's everyday tasks. It has been observed that for several reasons usually employees that have many different types of tasks as more satisfied than the ones that have one specific routine task. Lets discuss possible reasons of this observation.

Firstly, human's are natuarally inclined to variety, and they get bored from repeteation very easily. Similarly, even during their working hours people prefer to have diversity in their tasks, and prevent them from getting bored. Furthermore, variety is so important for people that even when they are doing tasks that is very interesting for them they prefer to do different types of things. I have a little niece, which is 2 years old. She really enjoys playing with her toy bear, but I have noticed when she plays and hour with the said bear she becomes bored with it and tries to do something else. As you see, even very young children get tired of doing same things again and again.

Secondly, when workers do different types of tasks during a day they will have a feeling that because of this variety they will have the opportunity of learning new things. Most employees will feel insecure about their job, if it is a specific and repetitive task, that can be learned easily. They will hypotesize that replacing them will be a very easy task for their employers, and because of that will not have the feeling of acompolishments about what they are doing.

Finally, Usually when someone is doing exact specific thing for a very long time, eventually they will loose focus, and their percision in whatever they are doing will be decreased. Last week I read this article in a sycology magezine, it was about an experiment performed on a group of students to find a way to increase their performance in school. In this study students who have four different subjects during a day showed much more performance than the ones will just one subject. Also, students with different subjects were less tired at the end of day. This experiment shows that suprisingly everyone need to switch to another type of activity to stay enthusiastic towards what they are doing.

Given all facts discussed, workers will be more satisfied if they do different types of things in the coarse of a day, because naturally verity appeals to humans, and they will learn when there is diversity in their tasks, and also they will be more focused on whatever they are doing.