You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or club. Do you agree or disagree that a person’s honesty is the most important thing to consider in deciding whom to vote for?

Use reasons and examples to support your position.

Honesty is the most valuable characteristic of a human being in all cultures. Without honesty, many social relations and collaborations could not last very long. The question is: should we vote for an honest leader for a student organization or club? In my opinion, we should vote for an honest leader because since they will be supposed to present some reports about the organization achievements and efficient use of resources, an honest leader can play an effective role in the students' welfare improvements or other relevant objectives. In addition, an honest leader could interact well with the university authorities and reflect the students' problems.

First of all, the students who vote for a leader for student organization have many expectations from their elected leader. The leaders should publish the recent activities and performances of the set of his management. Also, the organizations receive financial or human resources for specific projects or activities. Hence, an honest leader tries to make use of the resources efficiently because he does not want to lie to the students. For example, when I was in the undergraduate level, many students were reluctant to participate in such elections in part because they could not trust in the nominees. The previous leaders in our student organization were not honest about the performances of the organization in some cases. For instance, the organization used to send groups of students to some trips outside of the university. The previous leaders were not transparent about the costs of the trips and the students were feeling that they are being lied. As a result, the participation for the next leader elections had been highly decreased. So, I prefer to vote for a candidate who would be honest.

Second, the leaders should honestly reflect the students' problems to the university's authorities. Typically, there are many inevitable problems in every university or college which should be addressed appropriately. For example, in our university, the quality of foods in the dining hall regularly would have been reduced and many students refer to the students' representatives of student organizations who responsible for addressing such problems. In fact, they should reflect the problems to the university authorities. But, whenever the students complain about the food quality, they tell us that they will reflect the problem to the authorities but no improvements would have been seen. If they were honest to the students they should really oblige the food services authorities to improve the quality of foods.

All in all, based the arguments above, next time I will searching for a candidate who would be really considerate about the students' challenges or problems. Otherwise, the elections are not worthwhile to participate.