Tpo45

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There have always been a controversy between parents and children about when and how the children should set up a new life in our society, so there may be in other societies. Personally, I disagree with the presented statement. In fact, in the past, young people had explicit options for making decision about various aspects of their lives such as studying, job, marriage etc.

There is no doubt that the life was too simple in the past. There was no complexity in the economy, there was different expectations. Every human being was certain about the future of their life for which they should make decision. The decisions were typically about the education, which was limited to elementary learnings, occupation and marriage. A young person who was growing up usually passed some years in elementary traditional school and then he should prepare himself for beginning a job. The job also usually was the same job as his father or uncles or neighbors. Also the marriage was not an overwhelming process. He could easily find an spouse who was mathched in terms of family and culturla backgrounds. As a result, they usually were not dependent on their parents to make the significant decisions in their life. In contrast, the young people, nowadays, have a lot of challenge in the mentioned aspects. From younger ages in elementary school to adulthood, they always have struggle with their parents. For example, in the elementary school, they ask questions about the type of cloths, the type of pencils, the time of arriving and so on. In other words, their parents are the ones who make decision for them. As they grow up, they are skeptical whether they pursue their favorite field of study in the college or a field of study that have more lucrative jobs. Also, in marriage, there is a same story.

All in all, I think that young people are more dependent on their parents than young people in the past were. It is ,however, inevitable in our modern society for young people to be dependent and further analyses should be done to evaluate the advantages abd disadvantaes of each.