You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or club. Do you agree or disagree that a person’s honesty is the most important thing to consider in deciding whom to vote for? Use reasons and examples to support your position.

Honesty is the most important character of any individual and it is necessary for a person to be honest in order to be successful throughout his/her life. In fact, honesty makes life to form based on real rather than lie and flattery. In a large scale, in a team, in my viewpoint, there are few, if any, criteria that are more important than honesty in the assessment of a leader's character. A leader's being honest will affect his/her group's honesty as well. First, it tends to form a spirit of responsibility among the team members and second, it probably brings discipline for the team.

Let's suppose a leader who is honest. This leader, due to his/her honesty, won't lie, so this person will have a sense of ethics that makes him/her to be responsible. Having a spirit of responsibility tends to create a mutually sense of trustworthy and respect between group's member because this will make members to be punctual. In contrast, a leader with no or low sense of responsibility, probably won't accept his/her errors, so members will have a response for his irrational behavior. This may bring about a poisoning space for the team and if this action continues, by killing member's motivation and creating an unsecure condition, the leader will dramatically reduce their efficiency. Thus, having a spirit of responsibility is more likely to increase member's endeavor because it makes a situation where a man's word is a man's bond. Therefore, under this situation it can be said that members learn to be committed to their work and have a better feeling about their works.

The other personality trait which ensues from honesty is discipline. When a leader is honest, he/she almost try to discipline his/herself because team members will count on him and whatever the leader says or does, they will follow suit. Based on discipline, the goal of the team will be achieved at the exact or with little tolerance of the time and it will directly affect on the credibility of the group. On the other hand, in the absence of discipline as a leader's personality trait, some of the group's member—the ones whose personality is formed based on discipline—may disillusion and as the time passes, they may even leave the group. Besides, managing the team will have no meaning because there is no framework in which a leather asks members for a result and returning this feature as a team principle will hardly occur. Finally, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that time is gold and people should use their time in an efficient way. At the presence of discipline, members learn how to manage their time in order to submit their chores on time and by doing so they can prevent of wasting time whether at the team or they personal life.

As mentioned above, in my point of view, honesty is the most important thing that a leader has to have. Two reasons have been explained about the advantages of the honesty; being responsible and discipline. By means of these features it is alleged that the group's success is greatly guaranteed.