You have a choice of movies to see. What influences you the most in choosing which movie to see ?

Movies are a big part of our culture and for decades now going to the movie theatre has been one of the most frequent hobby. Thousands of movies are coming out every year and the kinds of movies are diverse and we may be influenced to choose a specific movie from another. From my point of view, if I have a choice of movies to see, I may be more influenced by the kind of movie than by the actors in it or the critics. This essay will further discuss reasons to support my point of view.

Firstly, the play of actors depends very much from a movie to an other. You may have liked 4 movies from Leonardo DiCaprio and not like the last one, as it happens to me with “The Revenant”. In fact, I am fond of Leonardo DiCaprio because he usually plays in comedies and thrillers, whereas this movie is based on adventure. Consequently, this example is one of the reasons that shows that the kind of the movie which will define my choice.

Secondly, I am not fond of critics because people's opinion can be biased by their prejudices or by their experience. For instance, every time I watch a thriller about a person’s life whom I know, I will think that it is not correct. Similarly, someone who has experienced rape will certainly not like the kind of movies that speaks about it and will think that is not directed correctly and does not represent the reality. For this reason, people’s opinion can differ much and I prefer not to refer myself at their opinions.

Finally, even if I am only 22 years old, I have seen a lot of movies and I know which movie I will enjoy more. I trust myself more than someone else. For instance, if two movies are available on Netflix or at the movie theatre, one is a comedy that has a 3 stars ranking and the other one is a horror movie with a 5 stars ranking, I will for sure go to see the comedy.

To conclude, I’d say that I will choose a movie by its kind because I have experienced all of them and I trust my feelings despite the opinions and actors.