Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn ? Use specific reasons and example to support your opinions.

Our whole education is dictated by our marks. We need them to reach upper years from our primary school to the university. This system has never been remodelled through our schooling. In my opinion, it can be both a great and catastrophic way to encourage people to learn.

Firstly, marks are encouraging because you know that you have a deadline at the end of the course. So that you have to learn and I think I would not have succeeded as much in some classes if I did not need to study for an exam. It is all the truer for classes that students do not like. I can tell a multiple compelling examples which happen to me through my studies. I hated lots of subjects and I did not have any interest in learning them, but I had to because of our grades at the end.

However, I find it disturbing that we need to pass exam to study a subject. In my mind, it shows a lack of interest from the students. This is to say that teachers do not know how to teach a class properly. I do not accuse them; I accuse the system. School should be a place where people get knowledge that they will need for their job. At first sight, I though that it gets better when I would jump into university because to some extent, I choose my major.

Moreover, knowing you have an exam at the end will only make us work for what may be in the exam. It does not help the student to learn much more. It dampens the level that we may have without marks and excellent student may just stay in the average. In fact, it does help people to get the smallest knowledge but it does not help the students to deepen it.

To end, I’d say that grades certainly encourage students to learn, but it does not help to them to get the largest knowledge.