Improving transportations is the best way for governments to promote economic growth.

Economy is the most important factor in today’s society and a good economy is synonym of the good health of the country. Every government is looking for their economic growth and from my perspective, improving transportations is the best way to lead to a better economy and I will explore 3 reasons why in my following essay.

On one hand, improving transportations means creating more roads, more railway which are leading to a saving of money and gasoline. Then, agglomerations are developed thanks to this because people can afford to live further from their job office. This phenomena of decentralization enhances jobs and labour market accessibility. It creates jobs not only in the capital but also in every places of the country. In my opinion, it certainly promotes economic growth.

On an other hand, job creation is not the sole argument that I have in favour of improving transportations. In my opinion, trades between companies are also simplified thanks to better transports. For instance, a French company based in Lyon can fly to London in only 1 hour and a half whereas it would take about 14 hours by car and boat. Thanks to smaller trips, French companies are not thinking anymore about leaving France and go to the USA or the UK, where they make most of their trades. Companies can finally compete against others in a global market. Moreover, foreign companies, which are looking for less taxes, may settle here, attracted by a less expensive life and better connexions. I have a compelling example within my relatives because my dad settled his company in Caen, which is 2 hours from Paris but thanks to railway he is able to visit his Parisian’s partner often while enjoying a smaller city with better prices and institutions.

In conclusion, I think that improving transportations is a winning bet for governments because it brings more companies and a better repartition of revenue in the state. But, return on investment appeals governments and in this respect, as it may be long, governments do not spend enough time thinking about all the advantages of this improvement. Money is a heated debate.