You have enough money to purchase either a house or a business Which would you choose to buy

According to the current economical situation and due to my background in the field, I would choose to purchase a business. I am a young and energetic person who studies bioinformatics after the Molecular Biology and Genetic bachelor's degree. Therefore, I would open a local genetic test center that holds the motivation to contribute to current research and applies genetic tests for health.

Firstly, my local hometown is a small developing city. Although it is located near a large city, most people in my hometown couldn't afford to travel this distance for such genetic tests, which are not available currently in my hometown. In this way, people could get easy access to genetic tests locally. For example, my uncle had twins and he and his wife needed to take a genetic test, karyotyping its called, to understand if the babies had any genetic disease such as down syndrome. Unfortunately, one of them was diagnosed with down syndrome. Anyway, since these samples are delicate, my uncle should travel 2 hours journey just to drop off the sample that the nurses just took from the prenatal chord. If we had a local clinic for this purpose, it would be much more efficient for pregnant women in my hometown. Additionally, in this center, we could offer a wide range of tests at affordable costs for all pregnant women. Thus, the parents could be aware of the genetic disorders that their children have.

Secondly, I have proficiency in this field especially. In my last year of my bachelor's, thanks to my professor at that time, I received real patient genomes to conduct a series of rare genetic disorder projects, under ethical conditions, to understand which genes are responsible for these diseases. Additionally, in the earlier years of my bachelor's, I performed most of these genetics tests by myself. Thus, I know the qualifications of an employee needed to perform these tests, while I run the business. Furthermore, for my master's study, I am working in the prostate cancer research field which offers me lots of opportunities to understand the disease and analyze the different patient chords. However, although the survival rate is so low for this disease, cancer funds are very limited in my area. Hence, I would like to contribute to local research groups by providing some tests that they commonly use, such as sequencing or microarray.

Overall, if I have enough money to invest, I won't think of a second and purchase a local genetic test center that professes in prenatal test kits and ease the studies of local research groups. Therefore, both parents became aware their children's health, and local research could be improved.