You have long been friends with someone. If they do something that you don't like, should you still be friends with him or her?

It goes without saying that human beings have perpetually made a cordial connection with someones throughout their life. It is axiomatic that friends, the genuine one, can be as precious as one's family. The controversial question which has always caused heated debates is whether it is worthwhile to keep long friendships even if they do something that is not according to our desire or not. In this regard, some people possess the conviction that if friends do something as oppose to our willingness, we should terminate our relationship. I, nonetheless, hold an alternative perspective and subscribe to the idea that as long as the task that they do is not offensive or do not irritate me for a long time, we had better keep our long friendship and try to compensate our plausible discord rather than wiping out the root of friendship. Further discussion on this topic can be boiled down to a couple of upcoming reasons below.

The first exquisite reason that we should not end up our friendship is that we have a myriad of memory with each other. If we were friends for a long time, we would definitely, have many things in common. We were sincere and sympathetic with each other, and owing to the length of our friendships, they, plausibly, have been trustworthy enough. Such friends gradually transformed into someone as close, and hearty as our family. Accordingly, we should take into account that as we cannot remove our family members because of their treatments, we also cannot close our eyes in response to what they do just because the tasks that they have done were not according to our desire. Without any doubt, not only continuing friendships would boost our relation, but it would induce cordial and the sense of reliability among us. To shed light on this issue, take a personal experience as a compelling example; my best friend and I have been friends for eventually ten years. During this time, there were many occasions that she did something that I did not like; but because her treatment has never been scornful, I always pardon her. Had not I done that in response to her inappropriate behavior, we would not be as intimate as we are today.

The second momentous reason which bears in mind is that people are different. They have disparate tendencies; they incline to act differently, and briefly owing to their distinctive characteristics and traits, they think differently. As a matter of fact, it seems so optimistic to expect them to treat according to our desire. Moreover, human beings are meaningfully provided that they accept other's differences and try to make consensus rather than expecting them to do exclusively what we like. Consequently, true friendship is the one in which we respect each other's opinions and do not oblige the other one to do in the way of keeping us satisfied without considering their own desire. It is evident that the fewer the expectation arise among friends, the less accentuate the discord, and the stronger their friendship would be.

Contemplating all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that long friendships certainly has fruitful incomes. We should not abide by our memories, and we ought not to undermine our cordial connection just because they do something in the opposite of our tendency as people have various traits and tend to treat diversely due to their inclination. As the Persian proverb says, " friendship is like a flower, if your friendships have deep root in the soil, do not eradicate it if, occasionally, do not they make the smell you like."