You have the opportunity to visit a foreign country for two weeks. Which country would you like to visit? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

Traveling the world is something I have dreamed about doing ever since I was a small child. If I was given the choice of traveling to a country of my choosing, I would definitely visit Peru. There are two main reasons why I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, Peru is a land of varied landscapes and I believe that getting in touch with nature is the best way to enjoy a vacation. Peru is unique in that it contains a tropical rainforest, some of the highest mountains in the world and even pristine beaches – all within close proximity to each other. Few countries offer easier access to such a plethora of natural wonders. One similar country is the United States; I remember that when I traveled across that country several years I was struck by how many different natural environments I was able to experience. I felt that seeing such scenes helped me really get to know America. I think that I could have a similar experience in Peru and because that country is much smaller I would have an easier and more affordable vacation.

Secondly, Peru is attractive because it has an extremely varied national cuisine. I have heard that Peruvian food has been influenced by quite a few sources, including Spanish settlers, local indigenous groups and recent immigrants from the rest of the continent. Not only that but visitors to Peru can choose from several different dining venues, ranging from chic modern restaurants to charming street vendors. I feel that eating the food of a place is another great way to really get to know a society. I recall that when I visited Japan during my last summer vacation I felt at one with the Japanese people when I visited a local sushi restaurant. I am certain that I would enjoy a similar feeling dining in Peru which would make a visit to that country very worthwhile.

In conclusion, if I could visit any country in the world, I would choose to travel to Peru. I feel this way because of Peru’s amazing natural environment and its tantalizingly varied national cuisine.