Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For most people, the ultimate goal of going to school is to acquire knowledge. There is no other way to achieve that goal than to understand ideas and concepts, instead of just learning facts. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, students will have to have greater results if they understand all ideas and concepts thoroughly. Nowadays, all tests of different subjects are designed to measure a student’s ability to understand the lessons and to apply that knowledge. Thus, those, students who are used to learn by heart all the facts are not likely to pass exams with flying colours. My personal experience is a good example to illustrate this. When I was in grade 8, I had some difficulties in studying Biology. I didn’t pay attention to the lessons and started to fall behind with them. As a result, I had no choice but to learn all of the theories and concepts to prepare for the final exam. I exhaustedly spent a few all-nighters to absorb all of the facts. Unfortunately, my result was terrible since the test required me to understand every concept in order to answer the questions.

Furthermore, if a student really understands ideas and concepts, he will know how to apply those into reality. According to my observation, students who seem to be greatly acknowledgeable often take to doing experiments and carrying out research. Therefore, they will stand a higher chance to get into a prestigious university since most renown universities seek for students who has experience of doing research and experiment. For instance, a former student of my high school gain lots of benefits from her extensive knowledge. Since she was a high school student, she always tried to understand everything she came across. With her profound knowledge, she decided to participate in ICEF competition, which is for students who have ideas for an innovation of numerous fields, and won a prize in the world final. With that result and her tremendous effort, she managed to successfully apply to Havard University.

Owing to all of the reasons mentioned above, I truly believe that students ought to understand ideas and concepts rather than just learn all the facts. Students should follow this advice because they will be able to get high results and they can apply their knowledge into reality if they understand what they learn.