Young people tend to enjoy life more than older people

Humans, like any other living being, go through a process of development thorughout their life cycle. We start as young, inmature creatures who gradually evolve and try to reach our full potential as individuals. In the course of this evolving, we accumulate experience as we interact with a wide array of environments and people through our lives. This experience not only means that we are better prepared to react to an specific situation, but also usually means that we get to know ourselves more than anyone. This knowledge of ourselves is translated into an enhanced ability to understand what we really want from life and how to get it, which in a way, can be understood as living life to the fullest.

Young individuals have all the energy and time to pursue their goals, but except for a few notable "old souls", we don't really know what we want from life at that point. We may have more friends and go to more parties, but when we are young we often find ourselves doing things that we don't really want to do, sometimes due to peer pressure, sometimes because of our own insecurities. Because we don't know what we really want, we let ourselves to be drifted by life intead of pursuing what we are pasionated about, and that frequently leads to unhappiness.

Old people, on the other hand, more often than not know what they want, and they don't allow peer pressure or their insecurities to get in the way of getting them. Although is true that with age come more responsibilities, old individuals are also wise enough to setting aside a time and space for themselves. This is particularly true when we reach the age of retirement, at which point we no longer have the pressure of our regular jobs in the way. Once we reach that age, we usually have a family, a wide group of people and friends to interact with, retirenment money and enough knowledge about ourselves to know what makes us feel good in life.

I would say then that although young people may have the time and energy for enjoying life, is old people who really are in a better position to do so. The knowledge about our needs and how to satisfy them that we gain thorugh our lives is what ultimately allow us to be free as individuals and really achieve satisfaction from our lives.