Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the history of mankind, individuals have been concerning the future of the society. One specific strata of the society, who are very eager to influence their future, are the young people. Some people believe that in today's modern world, the young are able to make decisions to affect the future of society, while the others disagree. I am in agreement with the former group. I will explore my reasons in the following.

First and foremost, from a political point of view, the young can effectively influence the future of society by voting. The future of modern societies is formed to a great extent through voting. As a matter of fact, in many countries young people are able to vote when they are 18 years old. This right gives them a chance to influence the future of the society by selecting appropriate candidates. I remember when I was an undergraduate student I was very excited to be able to vote in a presidential election. I just started to read political articles on websites and newspapers and I was excited to such an extent that I debated with other students and even my professors over political issues. Voting right made me feel that I can influence the future of society in a positive way. If I had not had the chance of participating in the elections, I could not have been influenced the future. That is why I think that young people are able to affect the future by their decisions.

What is more, the advent of internet has made it possible for the young to express their opinions and influence the other strata of the society in order to make right decisions that are essential for the future of society. In the past centuries, only a few elites were able to express their opinions to a large group of people by writing books and articles. However, nowadays internet has been widely used by the youth since its invention. By using the internet, young individuals are able to discuss their personal opinions in their own websites or weblogs and they can have a great influence on their readers. Hence, I believe that the modern world enhances the young's ability to influence the future of the society.

To put it in a nutshell, I absolutely believe that the young generation of today's contemporary world is able to change their future through expressing their notions and making decisions. Not only does the right to vote enable them to affect the future, but also the recent advances in the electronic world enhance their influence.