Cars come in all different shapes and sizes. Some prefer a large one, while others a compact one. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each type and which would you prefer?

In modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on whether to buy a big car or a smaller one. I personally would prefer to have a big car as per my needs. This essay will discuss firstly the advantages of both sizes and then discuss the negative sides of them.

First and foremost, the biggest advantage of having a large vehicle is to provide enough space for whole family. All family members can go together in a single car and it cuts the need of more cars and in turn helps in reducing carbon emissions. A compact vehicle has its own advantages as it is a cost-effective and need less petrol than a bigger one. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Melbourne last year found that the sales percentage of both big and small cars are evenly growing which indicates both have their own advantages.

Major disadvantage of having a big car is high maintenance cost. Similarly, small car can only take few members of a family instead of all due to limited space. For example, The New York Times published a survey stating that the percentage of people selling their small cars, as their family grows, in increasing and at the same time the current economic conditions are forcing quite few people to give up their heavy cars as well.

Personally, I would prefer to have a big car, despite negative sides of it, as I have a big family and would like to travel around with all of my family members together. To conclude, both compact and large cars have their own advantages and disadvantages associated with them and it is completely consumer's choice to buy based on his conditions and requirements.