In cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

Digital payment or cashless phenomenon has widely increased the number of credit card users in last few years. Credit cards can be a convenient way to manage your finances, but they can also be expensive and risky. I believe that advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will discuss benefits and drawbacks of credit cards and provide a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, there are plenty of benefits of going cashless, the most significant one is, credit cards are really convenient to use as we don’t need to carry bulky wallets all the time on shopping and they are also much safer to use. We don’t need to count money whether we have sufficient money to buy something even on international trips as well. For example, on our first international trip, when we ran out of foreign currency then credit card was our saviour and helped us to shop and pay hotel bills by one swipe. Therefore, credit cards are easy to use and safe option to carry.

On the flip side, people become more spend-thrift because only one swipe required to buy anything as long their credit cards have limit which is not a big deal nowadays. People also become impulse buyers and they end up purchasing unnecessary things. For instance, my friend is shopaholic and keep purchasing things online and in malls and end of the day, large portion of his salary goes to paying credit card bills. So, people can lose a lot of money if they do not notice it promptly.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds the view that credit cards can make life easier and be a great tool, but if they aren’t use wisely they can become a huge financial burden.