A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

In today’s technological era, there is much debate on whether children should have good handwriting or typing skills. Some people believe that school should stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead of their typing skills and handwriting is no longer relevant. While others argue that handwriting is helpful for to learn basic things and understand the words. I am inclined to believe that school should focus on children’s handwriting. This essay will discuss both side in details and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, handwriting is a basic tool used in many subjects like taking notes, taking tests and doing classroom works and homework for almost all every content area. Good handwriting help children to build up confidence and improve performance where poor handwriting can have pervasive effect on school performance. For example, when children learn how to write letter “m”, they can learn its sound and attention to linkage among handwriting, reading and spelling skills.

On the flip side, today where handwriting skills are on verge of getting disappeared from our life, and school are focusing more on typing skills. Because it is helpful for children to excel in academics and essential for future perspective as it helps them to get good job and earn well. For instance, my friend never had a good handwriting but excellent typing skills now she works as content writer and earning well from her typing skill. So, typing skills help people to present their work in better way and open doors for many opportunities.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that even though typing skill help you in today’s technological era to survive still good handwriting help children to improve their performance and help them to pay more attention to basic and understand the words by writing down.