Cheap overseas travel does more damage than good.

Discuss the extent you support with reasons and or examples.

It is argued by environmentalists and some people that relatively inexpensive air travel is damaging our environment and they say that it has little benefits. However, I believe that the amount of pollutants emitted by all aeroplanes in the world is far less than that of all manufacturing industries and vehicles combined. Moreover, it is promoting international trade and employment opportunities.

Firstly, some environmentally concerned people argue that the harmful gases emitted in the upper atmosphere are the major source of acid rains. Whereas, I think that the harmful carbon emissions from automobiles and industries will eventually be reaching to the same level also results in the same phenomenon. Thus, I believe that aeroplanes are not the major contributor to environmental damage.

On the other hand, low-cost air travel enables business people to expand their businesses into other countries as it is less expensive to travel frequently to manage their offices. As more and more people are travelling to other countries, governments needed to expand their airports which is creating employment opportunities. Furthermore, they are generating revenues in the form of Visa fees, Taxes and so on.

In conclusion, the environmental pollution caused by cheap overseas travel cannot be compared with the opportunities it is creating and hence should not be questioned.