Nowadays, it is possible to move sea creatures from their natural habitat at sea and have them relocated in amusement parks for the purpose of people’s recreation. Do you think advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

Explain your reasons and support them with specific examples.

In many countries, there are large aquaria which showcase exotic marine life for recreational purposes of humans. Some of them are even large enough to accommodate giant animals such as, whales, sharks and so on. People feel excited to have a glimpse of rare aquatic species; however, those animals will feel uncomfortable and are unable to survive in an artificial environment. Therefore, I believe that there are more demerits of keeping aquatic creatures in captivity.

On the one hand, not all people are capable enough to venture out in an ocean for observing aquatic world. An aquarium will fulfil one’s desire to have a glimpse on wide variety of oceanic animals. The other aspect is that some aqua parks are capable of breeding species which are on the verge of extinction. For instance, the Blue Coral Aquarium of Malaysia, successfully bread coelacanth which they caught off the coast of Kualalumpur, a rarest species which were thought to have extinct hundreds of years ago. At the same time, fifty percent of all sea animals in the very same aquarium died due to diseases of unknown origin. Though it is somewhat advantageous to keep marine life in confinement, they can flourish if they were left free in the wild oceans.

On the other side, wild creatures at sea prefer to live free and any sort of confined space will make them uncomfortable. In addition to that, they will also lose their natural instinct to hunt as they will be fed by the caretakers regularly. For example, a research carried out by a group of marine biologists reveal that sharks in captivity lost their aggressive nature of hunting and simply started feeding off of the meat fed by the zoo keepers in Thailand aqua park.

To summarize, keeping marine creatures in captivity has merits such as entertainment and breeding of rare species, there are more demerits related to their physical and mental health which will suggest that these creatures are best left in their natural dwelling, ocean.