The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Some people are not in favor that animals’ natural rights should be promulgated and has been the topic of preposition starting from the mid-20th century. I definitely support to prohibit the operation of zoos due to the adverse effects they provide to the animals and exploitation of their physical attributes for personal interest.

To begin with, animals should be treated fairly as humans do because they are also created by God. Legally speaking, shelters such as zoos are just giving the animals too much stress on their environment. They are usually seen to reside on a cage since birth. The natural process of animal development entails a domain that is rich with vegetation and forestry in order to grow well. Moreover, those several species are also subjected to series of experiments just for the sake of research for the ultimate alternative to human studies.

Apart from this, zoos should be condemned to closing of its business as they have entrance fees and other charges for viewing and playing with the animals that reflects exploitation. This strategy does not value the lives of the animals wherein they are only used for personal gain and profit. For instance, a multitude of specie keeping facilities are owned by private individuals as well as the government.

To recapitulate, taking away the animals from their natural habitat is a great deal of torture from them. They have the right to live well in their own means of hunting and reproducing. Zoos should be banned as they only restrict these animals freedom.