Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, people also say that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

We all need to work and gaining experience and knowledge will ensure that we are useful employees or business owners. Whether you complete a degree or learn the soft skills while working is a choice we all must make. This essay will discuss why choosing university first is a better option in the long-term.

To begin with, university study will help set you up for a professional career with a recognised qualification. It is possible to develop an academic understanding of a career while studying as an undergraduate and then post-graduate student. For example, teachers study at university to understand teaching theory and practice. Becoming a professional requires learning before a person can practice in that profession.

On the other hand, working can help you build important interpersonal skills as well as give you practical and useful knowledge and experience. Learning on the job can give you enough training to master the requirements of the job. For example, airline stewards, retail workers, tradespeople, office managers, do not attend university but learn skills that that enable them to work. In other words, learning the skills specific to a real job can pay off for many people.

This essay argued that gaining a university qualification can set a person up with a long-term career, while learning skills in a real job can create a career as well. In my opinion, study at university can give you the opportunity to develop critical thinking and build a career based on your interests.