do you think cashless society is realistic. what are advantages and disadvantages?

Recently, the phenomenon of making society cashless has triggered a great controversy in the world. Some people argue that a cashless society can be boon for the environment along with people, whereas others reject the notion saying nothing can replace the trust that cash offers. This essay will discuss whether making society cashless is a realistic idea by discussing both advantages and disadvantages.

There are myriad reasons that stem to the fact that a cashless society can be advantageous but the most important one is the way we can save our environment and trees from cutting down. Every year many forests are going down around the world to just cater the requirement of paper for making cash irrespective of currency. For example, a recent study shows that more than ten billion trees are cut down to make the paper required for cash. This is apparent why we should opt for a cashless society.

However, there are pitfalls that negate the argument of a cashless society and most preponderant one was the way cybercriminals are misusing the information to steal the money. There are many complaints raised to the bank on a daily basis on fraud transactions happening using the card details of another person. For instance, recent research says that most of the illiterates were targetted and card details are stolen to withdraw the money. This makes a clear case of why it is important to use cash for all types of transactions.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed both sides of a cashless society on how it can be beneficial in saving trees and detrimental in allowing people to misuse the cards. In my opinion, with proper planning and user education, it is possible to make this society a cashless.