Do you think English will remain to be a global language despite globalization?

Recently, the phenomenon of remaining English as an international language and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that taking English as a major language of communication worldwide is highly rewarding, opponents stand against it due to the consequences of globalization. I profoundly inclined to believe that English is still the most important language, and both sides of this issue will examine in this essay by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that English is a global class means of communication through all international companies and it could bring many benefits to those firms. Moreover, most of the scientist prefer to write their research’s in English. Not to mention that English proficiency is required for most of the top-notch universities. According to an academic research conducted by MNU university, due to the increasing rate of social networking programs, until 2020, most of the students will know how to speak in English, at least on a basic level.

On the other hand, opponents argued that, with regards to the growing rate of globalization, more than one language is needed to fulfill the international demands for communication. As an academic survey conducted by a team of researchers at Tehran University in 2015, nowadays many multicultural corporations have branches all around the globe and this diversity is demanding the use of different languages. Furthermore, many other major languages, such as Arabic and French is now accepted worldwide, so it could bring a real challenge for English in forthcoming years.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that although many languages are emerging in these days, I tend to believe that English still remains the most preferred ones.