Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

There are several ways which are followed by the docents to evaluate the performance of students. Formal written assessment is one method which is used by them for the assessment of their performance. I think; this method is not effective. I will explain why formal written assessment method is not valid to assess the performance of the students in the upcoming paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason is that some students fail to appear in the written examination. Diseases like malaria, fever often catch to the students therefore they fail to participate in the examination. For example, the literacy rate is declining day-by day because the ratio of these diseases is also accelerating rapidly.

The second reason is that some pupil copy answers from other pupil because some are not confident about their knowledge. Some pupils do not take interest in writing the long essays. Such students sometimes fail but often take positions in the written examination, but in actual, they are unable to apply their knowable to solve practical problems of life. Not only the literacy rate but also well trained students are not an easy to find. There is a lack of well-educated students in the nation, thereby, unemployment rate is inclining gradually.

Therefore, I assert that written assessment is not an appropriate way to assess the performance of the students. I feel practical knowledge should be assessed by giving them some practical assignments.