Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

The importance of formal written assessment, which was always debated, has become now more controversial. The substantial effects of students' performance has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on formal written assessment's on today's world in recent years. It can be agreed that written examination has positive aspects, but some people claim that it has some negative impacts as well. This essay will elaborate how formal written assessments in today's world to assess students' performance and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why formal written assessments are enough, but the most conspicuous one steam from the fact that theoretical knowledge is most important. Theoretical knowledge teaches about particular course and subjects. For example, engineer student learn about engineering and its concept but they won't have practical knowledge apart from little bit. Thus, student learn and understand all basic fundamental related to physics, science, maths, and drawing.

Moreover, written assessment will only test about theory. For instance, student are forced to learn particular amount of technology. They won't have any idea outside their textbooks.

On the contrary, some people adopted an opposing view and tend to believe that written exams just check memory power. Students will be learning and understanding about the topics which will be tested in final exam. An illustration, anyone can get any degree who has good memory power regardless of technical knowledge. Thus, written exams are not enough to check student's performance.

From what has been discussed, it can be concluded that the impact of written assessments in today's world to assess students' performances prominent but there are number of drawback should not be overlooked. I personally support written assessments which is better than others.