Do you think parents should be held responsible for their children’s behaviours?

Surely there has been no time in history where the lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical day reveals that children’s behavior has always been one of the prominent topics in contemporary discussions. People have always been intrigued to analyze and explain whether parents should be held responsible for the unruly behavior of their children. This essay discusses some of the measures they could take to redress this issue.

One compelling argument in favor of my stance on this issue has to do with the fact that parents tend to be more careful about their children and discipline them when they are blamed for the behavior of their children. This happens because in a desire to avoid future fines, or whatever the penalty the parents face, there is an active incentive to not only intervene in the child’s misbehavior, but also to do so in a timely way. Such interventions from the father or mother usually helps children understand the implication of their action and tames them.

Looking back at the introduction, one could also argue that parents can bring more effective and long-term changes in the behavior of children, and therefore, their involvement in their children’s upbringing is crucial. The reason for this is in order for a child’s misbehavior to be successfully remedied, the child must receive a consistent message on what is appropriate. As a result, a system of parental investment will ensure that there is someone closely watching and mentoring children enabling them to understand the social norms and values.

Hence based on the arguments above, I want to stress that parents not only become more careful but also do this job more effectively when they are held accountable for how their children behave. Therefore, I believe it is a positive consideration indeed.