In the education system, is assessment through formal written examination still valid?

People reasonably argue that the evaluation of academic excellence through written examination is justified and some are against of this opinion. However, in my perspective, assessment through paper based hourly exams should contribute only 25-30 percentage of the evaluation and remaining should be done based on day-to-day performances of an individual.

Firstly, three to four hours exam could not judge overall effectiveness of an individual despite the hourly based exam's score deem many things such as time management, preparations and so forth. Some people are perfect at their jobs although they do not have good academic performances. For instance, in a survey conducted among the employer of data company by academicexcellency.com, many employers responded that they recruit the employees based upon applicant's data processing efficiency regardless of their academic scores.

Secondly, exam papers are rather subjective and scored by few mentors whereas day-to-day activities of an individual are examined by a group reflect average remark of the group though subjective. Some people do good at their exams but perform lowly in practical job. For example, few employees with poor grade in their engineering courses are performing excellent who were recruited in our company based upon the recommendation of every individual of our circle whereas one of the gold medallists of engineering is poor at same job.

In a nutshell, assessment through written papers should cover about one fourth of the total marks for this way teaches some lessons: time management, meeting deadlines.