As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society?

With the advancement of technologies in medical field, mean life of people is increasing. This essay will first discuss about the peoples’ opinion regarding the aforementioned statement and then will discuss the disadvantages of ageing people in a nation.

Majority of people consider increase in life expectancy as an index of development. Due to invention of sophisticated devices which support medical procedures, people do not have to die in minor diseases which used to be a life-threatening challenge in the past. For instance, RIRS, a method to remove stone from kidney by simply inserting laser fibre and without surgery helps patient to complete one’s treatment within an hour with bare risk whereas before people had to worry whether they would lose their precious life due to over bleeding and infection in kidney.

There are few disadvantages of ageing population in the society. Firstly, ageing population barely work to earn their bread which means nation should take responsibility of their health insurances and so forth. Secondly, most of ageing group are dogmatic and are against the changing system. Hence, they try to bar the new arrivals through voting rights. For example, in Japan more than half population are aged above sixty and those candidates who think to embark noble system on loses the election which indeed hinder the youths benefitting from novice system.

In a nutshell, general population mass consider improvement in life duration as a positive sign of development. However, the demerits that comes along with the increase in number of aged population cannot be neglected.