Environment pollution is too alarming to be managed by individuals. Real change can be made at the government level. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic rise in the levels of environmental pollution worldwide due to unsustainable exploitation of the earth's resources. Although some claim that measures need to be taken at an individual level, others believe that it is up to the government to bring effective policies to counter it. This essay will discuss the reasons why the government must lead the change to alleviate the effects of environmental pollution.

To begin with, one strong argument for the change to occur at an individual level is that, ultimately, it is up to each citizen to implement policies and take necessary steps to reduce environmental pollution. For instance, if each citizen can vow not to use single-use plastics, then the businesses that operate on them would be forced to find other suitable alternatives. Moreover, research suggests that reliance on public transport can reduce vehicular pollution by half. Adequate awareness needs to be imparted among the young children to carry this work forward.

However, there are several arguments in favour of the government being the main entity capable of leading the change. The government has sufficient infrastructure, monetary and human resources at its disposal that can be used to reduce the damage being caused to the environment. This can be done by formulating and implementing policies that are aimed at reducing the overall pollution. Such policies will make it mandatory for organizations and individuals to take this issue seriously and work towards solving it.

To conclude, despite the importance of individuals to reduce the factors leading to environmental pollution, it is the responsibility of the government to spearhead and drive the changes to reduce pollution. In my opinion, specific policies by the government and concerned citizens are a healthy combination to solve this problem.