Essay 1 : do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers:

Packaging is necessary to retain quality of product and maintain the safety. Sometimes the product with excessive packaging can be avoided which is unnecessary to customers as well as producers. Some people think that consumers should not support by avoiding the purchase of over packaged products. While others argue that this packaging should be stopped at producers’ level itself. I am inclined to believe that over packaging should be neglected at producer level. The following paragraphs will analyse the disadvantage of excessive packaging and suggest the alternative solution.

First of all, people expect products such as snacks should be less packed so that can be consumed on the move easily. But most of products have packaging with plastic wrappers and carboard sheets which people will litter on the street while moving and often cause the environmental pollution. For instance , MacDonald is the first company which started packaging food with plastic wrappers cover and encouraged people to eat on the go.

Second of all, manufacturing companies are reducing quality and quantity of products due to overpackaging which might make products more attractive but not satisfy customers. Consequently , manufactures of these packaging material making profit due to higher demand by consumers whereas instead of packing material producer should focus on better quality of the products. For example, Amazon online delivery products are packed with multilayer packaging with excessive filling in extra large carboard box for smallest product which is absurd, as ultimately it’s discarded and send to landfills.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds the view that over packaging of the product not add on any value to the products so producers should invest more on product’s quality instead of packaging material . Further , it’s expected that the people make cognizance of the fact and avoid the over packaged products.