The government should create a better network of public transport available for everyone or build more roads owning population.

It is increasingly acknowledged that the traffic problem is one of the biggest issues that the government is facing nowadays. While some people believe that building more roads will be the solution, others advocate public transport is what the government should promote. As far as I am concerned, creating a better network of public transport will be more beneficial in respect of this issue.

People who emphasize the importance of more freeways in cities are primarily focusing on decreasing the congestion in urban areas. Nevertheless, this argument cannot hold water. This is because most people work in a suburb close to where they live. Hence, congestion is a problem in downtowns instead of rural areas where freeways may play a role.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that public transport has more benefits. Firstly, it reduces pollution and road congestion. The more people who travel by train, tram or bus, the fewer cars we will have on the road. In addition, it also requires less land use than road infrastructure. Moreover, commuting by public transport also helps foster a sense of community. For instance, people traveling together are more likely to feel a community connection than those traveling in cars in isolation. This is to say, public transport provides accessible transport for people regardless of demographics such as income or age.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic never fails to attract the public attention, we can safely reach the conclusion that there is a need for governments to put money in developing public transport networks instead of building more roads.