Is experiential learning (learning by doing) a better approach as compared to formal education. Do you agree or disagree?

This controversial topic in respect of whether experiential learning can work well formal education never fails to attract the public attention. There has been a hot debate on whether there is a need for students to learn new skills by doing things. As far as I am concerned, I tend to be the advocate regarding this issue.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that experiential learning can help students better prepare for future employment. Firstly, it is commonly acknowledged that there are some vital practical skills that cannot be solely learned from books. For instance, health students often need to complete some clinical placements before they are licensed to be practitioners, as using their knowledge on real patients helps them to master the skills comprehensively. In addition, students can also gain valuable hands-on experience from placements. Hence, they are more likely to get a job in the future,

In contrast, people who emphasize the importance of books are primarily focusing on the academic learning process. Nevertheless, this argument cannot hold water. For instance, an undergraduate with the good academic performance but not enough experience is unlikely to be employed by a company.

In a nutshell, due to the mentioned-above discussion, we can safely reach the conclusion that experiential learning plays a vital role in formal education and should not be discount. Despite the fact that learning from books is important, students should focus on putting their knowledge into real practice.