If you do not wear your contact lenses, for instance, the peeling and cutting of onions definitely brings tears to your eyes. Why? Because onions contain amino acid sulfoxides and sulfenic acids. Both of these constituents remain in separate chambers of onion peel, but when the latter is cut, they mix with each other and produce a volatile sulphur compound. When this vapour reacts with the moisture in the air, it forms sulphuric acid. It is this which causes the burning sensation in our eyes and makes tear glands secrete. It is also this compound which makes our utensils and hands smell, even after washing them with water.

However, there are ways in which we can avoid tears while cutting onions. One way is by reducing air circulation, by turning off AC and fans, for example, in order to lessen the spread of the gas; another option is to refrigerate onions before cutting, so that the constituents freeze and sulphuric acid isn’t produced. Also, burning lamps attract the gases released when cutting onions, stopping them from mixing with the moisture in our eyes.

The text offered insight into constituents of onion and the author began by explaning that how to stop watering in eyes during peeling onion, Watering in eyes should be stopped by turning of AC and fans to stopping them from mixing with the moisture in our eyes.