With the increase of digital media avaialble online, the role of the library has becoem obsolete. universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

The topic of digital libraries has become a heated debate among academics. Although many people assert that universities should produce digital media instead of updating textbooks, others refute this proposition saying that this will only aggravate the situation. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of online libraries and reach a logical conclusion.

On the one hand, there are many benefits linked with the digital libraries in which the most preponderant one is that students can connect and interact with worldwide libraries for their assignments and thesis. Furthermore, digital media will enhance their communication skills and excel their knowledge by providing millions of resources online for research. For instance, a study revealed that about 80% of students in the world are getting benefit from digital media around the globe. Hence, this why online media is helpful for youth.

On the other hand, there are negative implications attached to a proposal in which the most appearing one could be that traditional book reading will be obsolete. Moreover, the study stuff or material which is not online yet will be disappear from the libraries and students will never get to know about it. For example, a survey estimated that about 50% of traditional books will be destroyed because of negligence. Apparently, digital libraries also have many disadvantages.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the benefits and pitfalls of digital media in the modern era. Therefore, in my opinion, its potential benefits outweigh its negative advantages and can be ignored at a substantial cost.