It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Write between 200 and 300 words.

So called ‘gap years’ are becoming more popular when students finish high school. There are conflicting opinions about whether these ‘gap years’ are beneficial or not. This essay will discuss why taking a year off after finishing high school is an extremely important thing to do.

Many high school students are confused about what they will do after they finish high school. Many students choose university courses but then change their minds many times before setting on a course of student. For example, I did not know what I wanted to study at university and it was only after I took a year off after high school that the decision as to my future became clearer. In short, a year off after high school can help in deciding upon one’s future.

In addition to clarifying a path in life, a year off can also mean that students can gain work experience because typically in these years off students enter the workforce. This year of work is usually very enlightening about what it means to work. Working teaches us what it means to earn money and work hard, for example. In short, the year off is very beneficial because it teaches one about employment.

This essay discussed why having a year off is important and beneficial because it clarifies what a student will do with his life and it also provides work experience, which is important. In my opinion, taking a year off should be encouraged.