It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university.

Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Nowadays, enjoying a gap year between finishing school and starting university has become very popular within our society. While some people claim that is a time waster, others argue that it is an essential year for getting experience. In this essay, I will discuss why having a year off from education brings benefits to those who do so.

To start with, a break after school is essential to the humans' mind and body. It is very healthy to relax its body and soul after years of learning and concentrating. Furthermore, children who just finished school have the opportunity to travel around the world, visiting different countries and get to know different cultures. This will help to get a better understanding of various nations of the world. Moreover, if they still have no idea what field of study they want to choose, they may find the answer while they travel.

However, some people argue that a gap year between school and uni is a waste of time. It is not proven that an early start in university or college at an early stage of age will automatically lead to an early degree and therefore to an early start into the world of jobs. In addition, the argument that starting an occupation as early as it is possible will lead to an early financial independence is also not verified.

To sum up, even if some people think that a year off after school is unnecessary as it only delays the start of college or university, I think that taking a break before starting a higher education is very useful as it can open up the children mind and increases their personality.