It is said that for some developed countries, tourism may cause some disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The importance of tourism for advanced countries, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. Tourism not only brings more cash to any country but also brings terrorism and diseases. It can be agreed tourism may cause few disadvantages to country’s economy and environment, but it has some advantages as well. This essay will discuss both positive and negative impacts and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are various ways to explain why tourism can be disadvantageous, but the most conspicuous one is rooted in the fact that it will bring terrorist acts in the country. Moreover, tourists try to change the social and economic integrity of a developed country. For an illustration, research in this area reveals, tourism is harmful to the community and environment health. Thus, it is apparent tourism brings more disadvantages than advantages to first world countries.

Nevertheless, opponents of this trend tend to believe in some cases, tourism is boon to developed countries as it helps to generate income to many households and uplift the economy as well. In addition, it not only contributes to increase the prestige of a country but also helps to advertise the country’s natural beauty to the world. For example, the recent study from Harvard University shows eighty-five percents of tourists visit Australia because the advertisement is done by fellow travelers. Therefore, it is obviously true tourism is beneficial to any developed countries.

In view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude tourism is detrimental as it is responsible for many terrorist acts and environmental concerns, although it has many advantages that cannot be ignored.