Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

In contemporary society, the controversial issue of shopping malls taking over small shops has aroused widespread attention. Many people hold the view that it is promising progress in terms of modernization. However, others are backing the idea that such replacement is posing an imbalance in the local economy. Personally speaking, I tend to agree with the former because I see numerous advantages of this change, which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, the emergence of shopping mall brings great convenience to our daily life. Since all kinds of merchandise for our daily needs is placed under one roof, people can complete their shopping at one stop. Besides, the fixed price across the mall saves us the time for the endless bargaining. That being said, shopping at a shopping mall is more time-efficient, which is a huge advantage compared to wondering in the scattered stores.

Moreover, customers can get quality items from the shopping malls at a lower price. since the cost for transportation and storage in larger stores is shared thanks to the distribution in bulk, the same merchandises at shopping malls are often considerably cheaper. Taking my own experience as an example, the milk that I get from the well-known Australian chain supermarket Woolworth is almost always 1 to 2 dollars less expensive than the one that I get from the local grocery shop. As a result, these financial benefits can be another reason for shoppers to choose malls over small shops.

Shortly put, although small shops have their unique values in the market, shopping malls bring people more advantages than the inconvenience. I am firmly convinced that having more shopping malls is a positive change rather than a negative one.