Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

The world is undergoing the largest wave of urban growth in history. Due to this, innumerable change can be seen in the cities. Chiefly, big-big malls have been grown which are substituting small shops. I personally feel that expanding malls is beneficial. In subsequent paragraphs, I will discuss both pros and cons of replacing small shops by the malls.

To begin with the advantages, there can be many advantages of replacing small shops by the large shopping malls. Firstly, malls provide everything under a roof. For example, cinemas, play stations for children, restaurants and numerous shops so that people prefer mall as compared to small shops. Secondly, shopping malls provide different offers on the shopping which attracts more to individuals which are not common to be seen in small local shops.

On the flip side, due to the raising of the number of malls, the adverse effect can be seen on economic of small shopkeepers and their inherent arts: many small shops, specially handcraft and traditional clothes, in local areas are forcing to close because of the lack of customers; For instance, around 60% of small handcraft item shops have been closed, and sell of Khadi clothes in India has decreased by 60-70% due to fewer sales. Probing further, sometimes these huge malls and shopping centers create traffic problems in the markets due to lack of parking and the huge crowd on weekends.

In the nutshell, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that the benefits of malls outweigh the small retailers, however, if government decrease the tax on the local small retailers, so that, they can attract customers.