law can change human behaviour. do you agree or not?

Nowadays, the most important issue in the 21st century is the human behaviour in the societies. Many believe that law can change the human manners, while opponents have a diverse view and believe that other factors such as personality and education play pivotal roles in reducing crime,

To begin with, there are several reasons that I believe law play an important role to prevent people of doing criminal activities. First and foremost is that there should be an efficient instruments to protect individuals' right against offenders. In addition, there is a little room doubt that some restrict legislations such as death penalty and life imprisonment could pave the ways of threatening more lawbreakers. For example, a group of profound researchers, working in a prestigious university conducted a survey between two countries, in order to determine the relationship between more severe laws and crime rates. Therefore, the result was statistically significance and revealed that the more efficient law, the less crimes nations will face in their societies.

On the other hand, many socialist argued that there are other factors that should be taken into consideration to reduce crime rates such as personalities, the way of upbringing children. That is to say, law lonely will not be successful if there were not the productive educational ministry to educate youngest to show good behaviour in their societies.

To recapitulate, although there are many reasons to support both perspectives, my personal sentiment is that the authorities should legislate more severe law to control lawbreakers and prevent to see a firs-time offender.