The majority of television news being reported is bad news: wars, famines, accidents and crime. Some people think that television news should be a mixture of good and bad news.

Choose whether you agree or disagree with this statement and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Television is a medium of getting information from all around the world. It is noticeable that the most of the news telecast-ed on television nowadays are comprise of mostly negative news of wars, crimes, accidents etc. Some people think that news should be a combination of both good and bad news. This essay will the reasons why television news should be a mixture of both positive and negative news.

On the one hand, positive news on television imparts a positive vibe to its viewers. When the viewers watch a good news on news channels they feel more optimistic towards their society and lives. For example, if an individual has watched some program on television, which conveyed a positive message of helping someone etc then he will implement that lesson his life as well. Thus, good program is a way to teach a wise lesson to an individual and also help in bring changes in his overall behavior.

While on the other hand, bad news are also necessary to show on the television due to several reasons. It is known that people learn from other's mistakes. So if someone, for instance, is watching something which is antisocial or bad such as crimes, wars, political turmoil etc in news then might it will teach him a lesson either to fight with those kinds of situation or not to repeat those mistakes in his real life. As a result of showing bad news on television, people learn the way to tackle with adverse situations.

This essay has argued that how by telecasting both positive and negative news on the television viewers get influenced in an optimistic way and also learn lessons to not repeat the mistakes in their own lives. In my way of opinion, showing both good and bad news should be shown to the people all around the globe.