The majority of television news being reported is bad news: wars, famines, accidents and crime. Some people think that television news should be a mixture of good and bad news.Choose whether you agree or disagree with this statement and discuss why you ch

The media is responsible for the way we receive information from all around the world. Some people think that the news we view should be a mixture negative current events and ones that represent a better view of humanity. In this essay, I will argue that a balance of positive and negative news items is the best option for us.

As human beings, we need a positive view of ourselves portrayed in the media. We need to see models of good human behaviour so that we can emulate the behaviour in accordance with our value systems. For example, displaying humans treating each other with kindness and respect may lead to an audience acting on these positive ideas. By reporting positive news stories we may build a more resilient and robust society.

Bad news is often a record of the violent and dangerous behaviour and actions that are occurring around the world minute by minute. It is a realistic display of the way humans treat each other and showing it on the news reminds us of the dangers that many people face every day. For example, continuing wars, political turmoil, incurable diseases, natural disasters are events that are constantly present. If we are to solve these problems, we need to be constantly reminded that they exist.

This essay has argued that a realistic portrayal of world events may be necessary to remind us daily of the ongoing problems many humans face but presenting examples of positive solutions may bring about a positive change in our society more effectively. In my opinion, the balance of television news should good rather than bad to be more reflective of current events and more effective in moulding society.