In many countries students take a year off after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Those days, there is an ongoing debate between people about students taking a long break from study after finishing school. While it can be claimed that taking a break before attending university can help student to refresh their mental and physical fatigue, my view is that the disadvantages overweigh the advantages. In this essay, I will explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

First of all, there are several reasons why taking a gap after finishing school does not benefit for students. One of them is that after a long break, most of the students do not want to continue the university study. In addition, it can also be argued that an academic degree is very important in securing a job especially in today’s competitive job market. It should also be taken into account that without a job with steady income, people are not be able to survive in current expensive society.

Those who argued for taking a break before attending universities, had a different point of view and said that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that teenagers require to have a break after a long high school study in order to help in decision making of choosing the specialized major in university. Then, there are concerns about children choosing a subject that are not passionate to learn.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my opinion is that students must not take a break after finishing schools and they must subsequently continue for university study and I would strongly recommend that parents should force children on continuous studying.