Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The job candidates are being asked their personal data such as hobbies, interest and marital status by the employers. Some people think that the information are necessary for employment decision and others argue that this will lead to a bad thing. This essay will explain both sides of the debate together with my personal opinions and examples.

First of all, many people highlighted that employers require their personal information for judging personal behavior and suitability of the job. However, I do not agree with this because most employers do not really use this information to judge the personality of a potential employee. This has been proven in a research report from Cambridge University which stated that 80% of employers are judging the candidate’s personality during the interview process.

On the other hand, there are arguments that the personal information provided to employers are mostly misused. This usually happens when the information are being distributed. As a result, the job candidate will receive the advertisements based on their hobbies and interests. This is not to blame the employers but the information are collected and misused by the online third-party job boards. For instance, The Straith Time reported in an article that 92% of personal information provided in job boards are used for the marketing purpose.

To summarize, employers are not necessary to have their potential employee’s personal information to witness the behaviour and suitability and the provided information are often misused. Therefore, people should not share their personal information during the job application.