Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that in all stages of education, people are wasting too much time on studying theories and they do not invest enough time in learning practical skills. Personally, I agree with the argument and this essay will explain the problems with people who solely focus on studying and why practical skills are important.

Firstly, the major issue with people who focus on studying is that the job hunting after graduation. They usually have a hard time to enter the relevant job industry and experience the inconveniences such as communication and team working, during their first jobs. Therefore, employers prefer a candidate with previous job experiences compared to a fresh graduate. This can be seen on the report released from Singapore Ministry of Manpower that even though Singapore’s oil and gas industry is improving during last 5 years and demanding workforces from different professions, the employment percentage of fresh graduate for this industry has been dropped over the period.

Secondly, the practical experiences play an important role not only on a job perspective but also on an academic perspective. It is obvious that these experiences will help people to study a subject with an understanding on how things work in the real industry. Since they can connect theories and real world during the academic study, they will also be a skillful professional when they enter the job market. For instance, 80% of students that participates in an internship program during their studies, found to have a successful career according to a research paper published from Cambridge University.

To conclude, the work experiences are as important as studying theories and people who are full of academic knowledge without practical knowledge, are like a gun with no bullet.