Medical technology can increase the human life expectancy. Is it a curse or blessing?

In recent era there are numerous advancements in science and technology. Paramount developments in medical technology has colossal impact on increasing human life expectancy. Many dreadful diseases like Cancer and HIV which are now under curable diseases list. Few people argue that it’s a curse whereas other group cites it as a blessing. In this essay I will do a profound analysis on both sides, however, in my opinion, I completely lean toward curse rather than blessings.

First and foremost, aspect with advent of new technologies is many chronic diseases like Arthritis, Asthma, diabetes, blood pressure and cancer are now under control and curable, even though they are at the final stage. Newer equipment usage for chemotherapy has made cancer curable up to 99%. For instance, based on the research conducted by WHO confirmed that 74 years is the minimum life expectancy among Asian countries. Furthermore, countries like Japan and Bhutan has 81 years. Diseases related to neonatal are under control in recent days due to this technological advancement.

As “Every coin has two side”, some people argue that with an increase in life expectancy there are many disadvantages namely: Frequent visits to medical centers for regular check-ups among elderly people, increase in medical expenses for diagnoses, and primary one which has major impact is senior citizen count will increase leading to reduction in workforce thus hindering nation progress. Additionally, increasing in population creates so many supplement problems like poverty, lack of basic facilities which will hinder the economic growth of the country. Furthermore, Financial burden on Insurance coverage will drastically increase leading to financial disruption in salaried employees.

In a nutshell, I can conclude with an increase in human life expectancy which leads to an additional burden on the environment and society. So, the advent of medical technology is a curse for younger generations and government.